White Sugar

Standard

Oh, sorry, blimey.  I have a blog, don’t I?

I apologise for the radio silence – work has been busy, we’ve got the pre-Xmas ramp-up of General Things & Stuff, and there have been a couple of bereavements, which whilst fortunately (for me) aren’t of people I am personally close to, have none the less had the ripple effect in distracting my attention to those who need it slightly more than the world needs yet another of my exquisite vegetarian masterpieces.  There’s also a post on charitable food-banks which I’m gently simmering and will try and serve sometime soon before it burns and sets off the smoke alarm.

In the meantime, I’ll post a fairly simple but comforting potato pancakes recipe.  Be warned – this took a lot of olive oil to fry, and whilst delicious, those on a budget or counting calories might want to try and grill these or find a lower-fat frying process instead.

  • Take two large potatoes, cut up finely and cooked in boiling salted water until soft.
  • Mash with a little butter, and then add a cup of plain flower and a pinch of baking powder.
  • Finely chop some button mushrooms and some vegetarian ham or bacon.
  • Mix all together well, add salt and black pepper to taste, then take a handful of the mixture and form into a ball.  Roll out the ball with a rolling pin on a well-floured board until the mixture is roughly pancake/omelette thin.
  • Cut into quarters, prick holes in each quarter and then fry the flat cakes in olive oil in a flat saucepan, until browned on both sides.  Serve hot or cold.

And yes I suspect this would taste delicious with grated cheese added to the mix, and no, for the sake of my waistline am I going to try this variation for you.  The Christmas calorie blow-out is just around the corner, you know!

Leave a Reply

