Chocolate chilli

Standard

There may be a flurry of posts today (all hands brace for impact!), as I’m having a bit of a cook-a-thon. After that it might be radio silence for a bit, as the information from doctors is that my mother’s cancer has reoccurred and now spread to her liver, and as such my focus may be elsewhere.

In the meantime I would like to introduce you to some new members of the family; joining Spike the Lucky Bamboo plant and Steve the basil plant, are these charming young Cayenne pepper seedlings. I found a box of seeds for 99p in the 99p Shop (naturally) and although the packet was a year out of date, and the peppers normally need to be planted between February and June, I like a challenge. So does the cayenne pepper plant it seems, and I now have four healthy seedlings that I transferred to their own pots yesterday.

IMG_4521[1]

I’d also like to introduce you to another Jack Monroe recipe, this time for bean chilli with dark chocolate, a smooth, tasty and somewhat luxurious take on yer bog-standard chilli con carne…

IMG_4519[1]

Tin haricot beans (drained) and equivalent in black beans (ready soaked and boiled)
Half a white onion
Two cloves garlic
Red wine (I didn’t have any, so I substituted extra tomato puree)
Two squares dark chocolate
Tin tomatoes
A little hot vegetable stock
Paprika, cumin, chilli powder

Lightly sauté the onions, garlic and chilli powder.
Add the wine/tomato puree, tomatoes, stock, paprika and cumin.
Bring to the boil and then simmer for around 20 minutes.
Add the beans and chocolate, salt to taste, simmer for another 20-30 minutes.
Serve.

Leave a Reply

